ABC Motsepe LeagueLatest Soccer News

Highbury FC crowned ABC Motsepe League National Playoffs champions

Eastern Cape’s Highbury FC have been crowned the 2023/24 ABC Motsepe League National Playoffs champions after beating Kruger United from Mpumalanga 2-0 at Mxolisi Dicky Jacobs Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

There was peace and harmony after North West’s Thames FC’s attempt to gain promotion to the Motsepe Foundation Championship via a boardroom case against Kruger was once again dismissed with costs in the early hours of Sunday morning.

This came after Kruger defeated Thames 1-0 in the first semi-final of the SAFA‘s ABC Motsepe League National Playoffs on Friday, 21 June 2024. Thames were accusing Kruger of using a player that was a defaulter.

The fans’ abundant roars and rumbles in the stands were just priceless as the Kabelo Sibiya-coached side enjoyed their triumph against Kruger.

ABC Motsepe League National Playoffs final between Kruger United and Highbury FC
ABC Motsepe League National Playoffs final between Kruger United and Highbury FC


Highbury broke the deadlock in the 14th minute of the showpiece through Mzoxolo Rafani. However, Kruger tried to come back stronger in their search for an equaliser before the half-time break, but it was never meant to be.

The contest went into the interval with a 1-0 scoreline in favour of Highbury. In the second stanza, it was action-packed, with the Mpumalanga-based outfit trying to find an equaliser once again.

However, Highbury contained their cool despite the piling pressure from the opponents. In the 64th minute of the showdown, Rafani added to the scoreline. This was his brace as he made it 2-0 for his side.

As a result, Rafani became the leading top goalscorer in this year’s national playoffs with three goals.


Highbury walked away with the R1 2000 000 prize money, whereas Kruger pocketed R600 000.

The two sides will now compete in the Motsepe Foundation Championship. This is after they finished as the top two finalists in the competition.

RELATED STORY: Who are the Motsepe Foundation Championship newbies? 

Back to top button