DStv PremiershipLatest News

Orlando Pirates: 10 coaches in a decade – how they fared

Orlando Pirates have had 10 coaches take charge in an effort to recapture the glory days.

FARPost looks at the men who’ve gone around the revolving door at Pirates and how long they were in charge.

1. Roger De Sa

De Sa took charge of the Soweto giants from 2012 to 2014. Over the two seasons, the former Bidvest Wits mentor managed 62 matches, winning 30, drawing 17 and losing 15. During his stay at Pirates, he failed to lift a single trophy. However, he came close to winning the MTN8, Telkom Knockout and CAF Champions League after losing in three straight finals.

2. Vladimir Vermezovic

The former Kaizer Chiefs coach was brought in towards the end of the 2013/14 season to replace De Sa and managed to lift the Nedbank Cup in his first season at the club. Halfway through the 2014/15 season, he left the Buccaneers. He was in charge of 36 games registering 16 wins, eight draws and 12 losses.

3. Eric Tinkler

The Cape Town City mentor was first appointed as an interim coach after the departure of Vladimir Vermezovic in the 2014/15 campaign. He managed 18 matches, registering eight victories, eight draws and two defeats. In the 2015/16 season, the 51-year-old was appointed Bucs head coach. In 39 games he was in charge of, he won 17, drew eight and lost 14.

4. Muhsin Ertugral

The experienced Turkey mentor was brought in for the 2016/17 season. His stay at Orlando Stadium was short, only lasting three months, from August to November. He was only in charge of nine games, and he won three, drew four and lost two.

5. Augusto Palacios

Palacios, the Peru international, was brought in to bring stability to the club, replacing Ertugral. He was also in charge of the Sea Robbers for three months, from November 2016 to February 2017. He managed 12 games, recording three victories, four draws, and five defeats.

6. Kjell Jonevret

The Swedish mentor joined the former African Champions in February 2017. He came close to winning a silverware in his first season after losing in the Nedbank Cup final against Supersport United. During his tenure, he managed 18 matches, winning six, drawing seven and losing five.

7. Milutin Sredojevic

The Serbian international was in charge of the Buccaneers in the 2017/18 and 2018/19 seasons. He managed 80 matches, recording 38 victories, 26 stalemates and 16 defeats. He came close to winning his first trophy with Pirates after losing the 2018/19 Telkom Knockout final against Baroka FC. In the 2019/20 season, Micho parted ways with the club two games into the new season.

8. Rulani Mokwena

The Mamelodi Sundowns co-coach was appointed Pirates’ interim two matches into the 2019/20 season. He was only in charge for four months. In the 14 games, he presided over Bucs; he won four, drew five and lost five.

9. Josef Zinnbauer

Josef Zinnbauer replaced out-of-favour Mokwena in the Soweto giants’ dugout. In the 2020/21 season, the German mentor won the MTN8 title, breaking an eight-year drought of the trophy. During his two seasons at the club, Zinnbauer coached 57 matches, winning 35, drawing 20 and losing 12.

10. Mandla Ncikazi and Fadlu Davids

The co-coaches took charge of the Happy People after the resignation of Zinnbauer. The duo was in charge of the 2021/22 season. They managed 42 matches, recording 17 wins, 16 draws and nine defeats. They came close to winning the CAF Confederations Cup after losing in the final against RS Berkane.

Related Articles

Back to top button